YES ON PROP. 19

Even though it will cut into my law practice, and even though I myself have been sober 12 years, I am voting YES ON PROP. 19 on Nov. 2 to legalize marijuana in California. This is not because I believe marijuana to be a harmless drug. Daily use, especially for teenagers, can be a major obstacle in life. On the other hand, I don’t think marijuana is significantly worse than alcohol, in terms of public health costs. I also think legalization will free up police to concentrate on more serious crimes, will reduce power of drug cartels, will reduce the number of non-violent offenders in custody, will eventually generate meaningful tax revenue, and will slow down constant erosion of civil liberties in this country. (Practically speaking, motorists today are pulled over and searched at officer’s whim.)  I know that the federal government is saying it may sue to block the California law, if approved. Who cares?  In fact, it’s California who ought to sue the U.S.  The federal government has no right to prohibit this drug or any other, in my view. It’s not what the ‘commerce clause’ of U.S. Constitution was intended for.

About kittroyer

Kit Troyer lives in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to YES ON PROP. 19

  1. Wrye Martin says:

    Not to mention the untenable and inane proposition that we are incarcerating an incredible number of people for the sale of a good that is available for purchase legally at a half dozen purveyors within a mile of my house…

Leave a Reply

